I've found my furever family!

Little Buddha

We're happy to tell you that Little Buddha has a new furever home.
Please visit our Available Dogs Page to see the pups currently available.

Hi, my name is Little Buddha! My best physical characteristics are my cute black nose and deep caring eyes. My foster mom also loves my fluffy fur around my face and morning bed head! I take a little time to warm up to new people, but once I do I become a goofball. I have crazy zoomies around the house, and my foster mom thinks it’s so funny to watch my fur fly. I also have like a 6 ft vertical! I can jump really high onto your lap or your face (that only happened one time, but I got my foster dad who is 6 '2 right in the chin LOL). When I’m really happy and chilling with you on the couch I love to roll over and show my belly for some scratches.

My foster home is filled with foster bullies and Pitbull type dogs, so it was quite a shock when I showed up in my foster mom’s driveway one night. I was pretty matted on my face and tail, my nails were really long and I was a little thin. I fit in with the crew pretty quickly at the house though and I adjusted to living life with some big dogs.  

I’m still learning potty training, as I am occasionally having accidents. My foster mom hasn’t figured out my cues yet when I have to potty, it turns out I also don’t like going potty in the rain. 🙂 I have not had an accident in my kennel at all though! I am mostly chill and quiet in the kennel except when my foster mom walks in the door from somewhere – I’m just so excited to see her! I sleep in my kennel at night. I know “sit”, and I’m learning to walk nicely on a leash. I’m told I’m the worst walker in the house, so we have been working on that. I just get easily distracted by new smells and small animals! My mom is also putting me on the treadmill to learn some confidence and burn some energy. I would really benefit by taking some training classes. I think this will help me bond with my new human pawrents. I am a one person sorta dog, so anything to help build a bond with me will be great. I am also VERY (and surprisingly to my foster family) athletic! I would love agility work or other fun trick training classes. Human interaction motivates me the most – I love making my people happy. 

I have not met children yet, but I kinda suspect I’ll be dubious, as I prefer calm older people. I live with cats and I’m great with them! BUT I have a huge prey drive, cause sometimes I hunt mice (and I may or may not have brought them inside LOL!). My foster parents have a rabbit as well who is the same size as me, I don’t interact with him though. I currently live with four other dogs – an 8-year-old female husky mix (42lb), a 5-year-old male pittie/beagle mix (40lbs), a 1.5-year-old female American Pitbull Terrier/Staffy mix (45 lbs) and a 3-year-old male American Pit Bull Terrier (70lbs). I definitely try to boss the dogs around in my current crib. I try to guard my foster mom on the couch, so she works on that with me quite a bit. I have chased the 70 lb. Pittie off her lap before – but I didn’t get away with that, I’m still learning to share. I love taking walks with my current pack of dogs – I actually can out-walk this group of lazy Pitbulls and can go for miles. My foster parents took me to the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone recently and I kept up with the big dogs on big trails – no problem!

Some other things I should mention about myself. I'm still learning to trust humans –  it took my foster mom about two hours to wrangle me and I was scared, but once I learned she was a nice person I bonded with her very quickly. Vet visits and groomers are hard for me. I haven’t been able to get groomed by a professional groomer yet, so you’ll have to excuse my appearance. My foster mom bought a clipper and shears to help keep my fur in line, but she is not the best at grooming, but at least I’m feeling fresh. I only trust her to groom me at this time. Vet visits are hard for me right now – I do require medication and a muzzle to be handled at the vet, so continued “victory” visits and positive associations are what I need for success with being handled by someone other than my clan. My foster mom has put a tracking collar (Apple tag) on me as well. I can be a little bit of an escape artist and have a prey drive, and will “look” for my favorite people if they are not home and I’m in the backyard. A secure backyard fence or supervised, leashed outdoor time is required for me. I don’t say this to scare anyone off – but my foster mom knows how I operate. She calls me a stage 5 clinger – and she wants me to be safe, since I’m so little and obviously escaped someone’s home in the past to end up in my current situation.

Some other fun facts about me:
Why are you the very best dog in the whole world?
I am such a good dog because when you get to know me, I love you with my whole heart.

Give me a description of your dream forever family.
My dream family would be an active family. I can be an only dog, or live with other dogs, but I do like to be the boss! My family will have to work on that with me if I live with other dogs.

What are some of your favorite toys?
I love both small stuffy toys to toss, de-fluff and shred. I also love antlers, nylabones and other marrow type bones.

Play all day or cuddles and snoozes?
I’m a good combo of play all day and couch potato. I actually love getting dirty – I will run out to the backyard, roll in the mud, jump in brush piles and even go into the small fish pond – I just love having fun! But I’m also a great cuddler – just need to burn off the excess energies first.

What makes your body wiggle and your tail wag harder than anything?
Seeing my favorite people makes my tail wag more than anything!

What would your dream day consist of?
My dream day would consist of waking up, going for a nice walk or zoomies in the yard for a half hour or so. I would love to toss around a stuffy toy for a few minutes, then relax in a little bed (like a donut bed) with a bone, or under your desk while you work. At night we would go for a nice walk, have some dinner and then cuddle on the couch (I am currently only eating once a day). I would love to go for a hike on the weekends. Could this be you?