I'm ready for my new family!


I'm Available

Hello, my name is Herbert (aka Herbie!). I have beautiful big brown eyes, you can get  lost in them! I have a warm little body – I’m the perfect cuddle buddy. I also have the softest ears. When I’m happy my whole body wags along with my tail!

I am a quirky little guy,  you’ll discover a million new things about me as you get to know me. I enjoy melon (really there’s not much I won’t eat)! I like to suckle on blankets when I’m relaxing, prepare for any fleece blankets to have wet spots. I like to take a ball outside with me when I go potty. I can jump about 4 feet in the air when I’m excited!

I was rescued as a stray from  a reservation when I was about a year old and brought to Save-A-Bull. I lived with my last family for about two years and then circumstances changed and they needed to re-home me. My previous mom says I have some food insecurity and separation anxiety that make sense when you think about what life was like as a stray.  

I am potty trained! I have very occasional slip ups (1-2 times a year) in new places but do really well overall. When I first moved in with my previous family I did some marking, but when they left me in a smaller area of the house I did great. Eventually they let me in the whole house when they were gone and I did great. I can go in the kennel but don’t love it unless you’re right there. I’m fine being left in the house free range though, as long  as I don’t have access to the kitchen (I’ll counter surf). My previous mom says counter surfing makes a lot of sense because when I was a stray I didn’t have access to a lot of food and am still learning that food will always be here when I need it. At night I prefer to sleep in bed with my family. I’m a top notch cuddler and will demand to be under the covers with you (although I can be told no and I’ll respect that!). I can also sleep on a dog bed next to the bed and sometimes prefer that. I’m really good at “sit” and will  look at you and pointedly sit when I want something you have – I’m really  smart and want you to know, “I did the thing you like, now give me the reward!” I’m pretty good at “drop it” especially with toys/balls. I am a fetch a champion! “Leave it” is a work in progress, and I did some beginning nose work with my previous family. I have taken a beginning nose work class and really liked it! I also worked with a trainer 1:1 to get some tips to help me feel more comfortable when meeting other dogs. I think I’d do really well with any form of mental stimulation – I’m a smart guy and need physical and mental work to keep me happy. Food is my biggest motivator but I’m also so pleased when I make my people happy. My butt just can’t wiggle fast enough!

I would do well with older children who can respect my boundaries when needed as I'm a little nervous around small kids. I have met cats on a leash and wasn’t super interested, but would need close supervision, again because of my prey drive. In my previous home I lived with a female dog one year older than me and loved her. We played really well together, cuddled, and I looked to her when I was scared or anxious. I’ve also lived with a French bulldog puppy (I mostly ignored him and tolerated him well, and did have some good moments of play), an older mini dachshund, a clumsy and friendly lab, and a senior Chihuahua, all of whom I got along well with. I LOVE to play tug-of-war with other dogs, I could do it for hours! I love playing chase especially when the other dog has something I want, like a toy. I like to snuggle with them in moments of downtime. I would love to have another doggo in the house to play with, but will need proper introductions at first - I warm up quickly!

Some other fun facts about me:
Why are you the very best dog in the whole world?
I am just the sweetest and most genuine guy, I wear my heart on my sleeve and adore my people. I’m really smart and quick to learn, but stubborn as well and will make you laugh with my willpower. You’ll never stop discovering new parts of my  personality and will always have a funny anecdote to share about me!

Give me a description of your dream forever family.
I’d love an active family where someone is home regularly, although I did well left alone for up to eight hours with my previous doggy sister. This family or person would have either no kids or older kids who are good with dogs. My ideal family will be willing to continue working with me on walks and positive associations outside and on leash. I would love continued mental stimulation and further training, whether working with a trainer or doing more basic commands. I need a family who can be consistent with me and keep boundaries/rules the same. I’ll need regular exercise, I loved jogging with my previous family! I would also love a doggy sibling who’s confident and can take the lead, and hopefully who also enjoys playing with me.

What general knowledge TV or movie character are you most like and why?
Air Bud for my jumping, and Mort the lemur from Madagascar for my big eyes.

What are some of your favorite toys?
I love balls! I have a rotating collection of favorites. I’m a toy destroyer but will generally keep a plastic spiky ball  around for a while, or a squishy rubber tennis ball. I love to destroy plush toys and play tug once I’ve taken all the fluff and squeakers out! My previous family says I’m more of a quantity rather than quality guy.

Play all day or cuddles and snoozes?
Both! At the same time! I’d love a good fetch game and a walk, but when you’re ready to settle in I’ll come cuddle up next to you and fall deeply asleep.

What makes your body wiggle and your tail wag harder than anything?
My people coming home! I’ll jump in the air and wiggle and bark a little because I’m just so happy! You’ll get this response whether you’ve been at work all day or just stepped out for two minutes. I just love my people so much!

What would your dream day consist of?
A long walk or jog, then a nap at home next to my people. Maybe a trip to the store to pick out a new toy, which I’ll quickly destroy once I’m home! I love car rides, one of those would be great. Then another walk? I’m pretty happy with whatever though when I’m with my people! Could this be you?

  • Terrier - American Pit Bull
  • Male
  • 3 Years OldMy DoB is 01/15/2021 (Estimated)
  • 31 - 40 Pounds
  • Black & Brindle
  • High Energy
  • I Like Kids Over 10
  • I Like Select Dogs
  • Not Tested With Cats
  • Not Tested With Small Animals
  • I Have Not Been Tested with Farm Animals
  • I'm Currently In Training
  • $ 375.00
Apply To Adopt Herbert
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Herbert