Quill
Male – 4 months old

Hi, I’m Quill! As a newbie to rescue, I took part in a little interview so that you could learn more about me. Here we go:

Q: What are your best physical characteristics?
A: My coloring and my snuggly face – I am mostly black with the best speckled accents you have ever seen! I also love to get my face snuggled. My foster mom always says some Eskimo kisses are a great way to start the day!

Q: Give us some interesting/goofy personality traits.
A: I think I was a horticulturist in another life because I literally love to stop and smell the roses, but really any flower will do! They are so pretty and smell good- sometimes they look good enough to eat, but I am never allowed to. No fun!

Q: Do you have an interesting back story/history?
A: I came up from Alabama with my brothers and sisters, it was a long drive, but I think I was born to be a Minnesotan

Q: Are you potty trained?
A: I never ever have accidents in my kennel, but I am still working on potty training when I am outside of it. But I have started figuring out that if I stand by the door my people will bring me outside, so I think I will get the hang of it real soon.

Q: Are you kennel/crate trained?
A: Yes, my people both seem to work forever during the day so I stay in my kennel when they are gone and at night. If you want me to snuggle in bed with you though- count me in! I do cry a little bit when you leave me (a good guilt trip is a powerful tool ) , but I like to listen to music so as long as the tunes are on, I quiet down really fast.

Q: Where do you sleep at night?
A: My kennel, I go down well, and some nights I don’t wake up until you come get me! When I am first adjusting to a new place I cry a little, but most of the time I am silent.

Q: What tricks/obedience are you currently working on?
A: Well with my passion for flowers, and sticks, and grass I am learning “leave it” and “drop it” my people are really impressed with how fast I pick up on stuff. I am also learning “off” (because sometimes I really wanna kiss your face) and “sit” so I can be a proper gentleman. My people say I am super smart and a quick study, whatever that means.

Q: What tricks/obedience have you mastered?
A: I have only been practicing a few days so I wouldn’t say I have mastered any, but it is only a matter of time and I will be the best puppers you have ever seen!

Q: Have you met or lived with children?  What ages?  How do you act around them?
A: I have not lived with any kids, but I love them! I could sit and watch the neighbor kids all day if you let me! I love their energy it is so interesting to see what they will do next! The few kids I did meet I was very respectful of. My humans have a whole boatload of nieces and nephews so I am going to have lots of experience in the near future!

Q: Have you met or lived with cats (or other small animals other than dogs)?  How do you act around them?
A:
I have not met any cats, but I think I will be fine with them. I may try to play a little, but they will be my friends.

Q: Do you live with any other dogs?  If yes, what are the general sizes, genders, breeds, etc. of the other dogs?
A:
My foster sister is a 4 year old Staffy/Pit mix, and I love her! She is kind of a killjoy and doesn’t really want to play with me, but I still love her. I especially like the shiny things that live on her collar, I just want to chase those things all day. I do great meeting other dogs, right off the bat. I have a feeling I will like to wrestle when I find a worthy friend, but it is all in fun!

Q: Are you more submissive or dominant around other dogs/animals?
A:
I think with bigger dogs I am more submissive and with smaller dogs I may be more dominant. I don’t seem to be sway strongly either way as long as they want to play I am happy.  

Q: When/if you do play or interact with other dogs/animals, what are your favorite activities?  (Ex. Walks, tug-o-war, cuddling, etc.)
A:
I love me some walks! My people say I am a great walker, especially for a puppy, I do like to get a bit distracted with flowers, and crinkle leaves, but for the most part I want to keep up with my people and my foster sister. I am still figuring out toys, so I need more time to figure out my favorites, but I do like to wrestle.

Q: Why are you the very best dog in the whole world?
A:
I am the very best dog because I am a fast learner and I am loving and respectful of my humans. My foster mom says I am a clam soul with the heart of an adventurer- I am pretty chill, but I love to be busy!

Q: Give us a description of your dream forever family.
A:
I just want someone, or lots of someones – no matter the size, to love me and take me for adventures. I love being outside and playing! It would be so nice to have a fence- then I can just sit and enjoy the sun in my fur all day. But I also want some time with my people and get my snuggle on. I would be fine with another dog or by myself. As long as I get attention from someone I will be a happy pup!

Q: What would your dream day consist of?
A:
Get up, go for a walk, come home, follow you around a bit, play time or snuggle, then repeat! I really love snuggles before bedtime though!

 

And now a note from my foster parents (I’ve got them loving me already!)

"Quill is such a wonderful puppy, he has such a loving soul and really wants to please his humans. He is really relaxed but busy- he just wants to be with others and taking part or observing everything that is going on. He really loves getting his neck scratched and what I call smooshy face- which is basically getting lovies on his face or giving you lovies on your face. He is here to love and be loved. He will be a great addition to any family!"

Adoption Fee: $300 (includes sales tax)
Adoption fee also includes a training reimbursement credit – Learn more

Quill  Quill  Quill  Quill  Quill  


ARE YOU READY TO MEET THIS DOG?
Please complete the online Adoption Application now. Make sure to read our adoption policies and FAQs.

MEET MORE ADOPTABLE DOGS

SPONSOR A DOG
You can help support one dog during their time in rescue. To learn more about sponsorship, click here.
Our dogs regularly attend adoption events where you can meet them in person. Check out our EVENTS page for the schedule and to see which dogs will be attending.